How to Install Magento 2 on Windows with XAMPP

Magento 2 Knowledge Sharing Tutorials #1: Magento Installation

Geno Tech
5 min readNov 6, 2022

Here is my first Magento knowledge-sharing tutorial. I started to learn Magento three months ago, and I faced a problem in which I couldn’t install Magento 2 easily. So you will no longer face that problem because here are the easy steps you must follow. I installed Magento in windows 10 by using XAMPP and MySQL. If you're familiar enough, you can modify these steps to run Magento in Docker. Carefully follow the below steps one by one. All the links are provided. Every step has been explained using screenshots. So I believe you can achieve this quickly.

Step 01

Download XAMPP from this link. I installed version 7.4.30. Please be careful with version numbers. Version incompatibility will lead to many issues.

Step 02

Download Composer from this link. I installed Composer 2.4.1.

Step 03

Install Elasticsearch. Elasticsearch is a query-based search engine which will be helpful when developing with Magento 2. So it would be best if you kept running Elasticsearch when developing.

  • Go to this link and download the zip file. I downloaded an old version(7.10.2) for my purpose. You…

--

--

Geno Tech

Software Development | Data Science | AI — We write rich & meaningful content on development, technology, digital transformation & life lessons.